Winner of the 2013 European Young Researchers’ Award announced

This year the European Young Researchers’ Award (EYRA) was to recognise researchers preparing their first PhD, who have demonstrated outstanding research performance and leadership and have incorporated a clear European dimension into their research.

The International Selection Committee appointed by the EuroScience Board has unanimously recommended to award the 2013 EYRA to Luz Rello.

Her scientific fields are Computer Science and Accessibility.

She is affiliated with the Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain

Evaluation Criteria

There were several evaluation criteria including the following:

  • Scientific Quality of the research, as demonstrated by high quality publications in top-ranking journals and/or by prestigious Honours or Awards.
  • European Dimension, of the research and/or the research team as demonstrated in real collaboration with researchers from across Europe and/or a research question with a clear European relevance.
  • Inspirational team worker, as demonstrated by the role in the research team
  • Communication qualities, about the research, as demonstrated by public presentations, radio/TV/journal contributions or similar activities; European exposure is a bonus.

The Evaluation Summary is available for consultation.

The EYRA will be handed at ESOF 2014 to be held in Copenhagen (21-26 June 2014), Denmark.

Featured image credit: Luz Rello